Damen Bell-Holter (Haida Nation) named recipient of Trajan Langdon Award—For Leadership, Sportsmanship and Inspiration

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Directors’ Awards recipients will be honored at the annual Alaska Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony and reception on Thursday, April 27 at the Anchorage Museum.

The 2017 winners:

Trajan Langdon AwardFor Leadership, Sportsmanship and Inspiration. 

Damen Bell HoltereDamen Bell-Holter – A native of Hydaburg and graduate of Ketchikan High School, Bell-Holter played basketball at Oral Roberts University before competing in the National Basketball Association’s Development League. He now competes professionally in Italy. Growing up, Bell-Holter was surrounded by poverty, drug abuse, and other reckless behavior and now speaks to youth about suicide prevention, obesity and other issues. A member of the Haida Nation, Bell-Holter returns to Alaska every summer and mentors children through his Blessed 2 Bless basketball camp, which is steered by the mission to “give back to youth through the game of basketball.”


The Directors’ Awards presentations are part of an evening that also includes the induction of Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2017. Individuals Martin Buser, Jeff King and Nicole Johnston, the Fur Rendezvous Sled Dog Race (Event), and Vern Tejas’ Winter Solo Ascent of Denali (Moment) will all be honored.

For additional information about the Directors’ Awards and previous winners visit our Directors’ Awards page . Director’s Award recipients will be recognized on a plaque at the Alaska Sports Hall of Fame gallery at the Ted Stevens Anchorage International airport.

The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors are Jim Balamaci (President), Jason Metrokin (Vice President), Chris Myers (Treasurer/Secretary), Matt Carle, Chuck Homan, Nina Kemppel, Gina Luckey, Rick Mystrom and Eric Ohlson. Harlow Robinson is the Executive Director.

  • 61