Chris Wondolowski (Kiowa Tribe) Named to 2016 Major League Soccer’s All-Star Roster set to compete against Arsenal at Avaya Stadium in San Jose

Chris Wondolowski (Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

SAN JOSE, Calif. – Major League Soccer  announced that Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski (Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma) was among 26 players named to the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Gameday Roster set to compete against Arsenal at Avaya Stadium in San Jose on Thursday, July 28. The Earthquakes are one of six clubs, and one of just two in the Western Conference, to send multiple players to the annual event, and are the only club with two American-born All-Stars. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m. PT, live on ESPN, UniMás, UDN, TSN, and RDS.

Wondolowski, 33, will be appearing in his fourth MLS All-Star Game, after being selected in three consecutive years from 2011-13. Despite missing four games while competing with the United States National Team at Copa America Centenario, his seven goals this season currently rank tied for 10th among all players in the league and tied for second among all players with 15 or fewer games played. Wondolowski has scored 116 career regular season goals, fourth most in Major League Soccer history, two U.S. Open Cup goals, one MLS Cup Playoff goal and one MLS All-Star goal, scored in 2012 against Chelsea FC.

2016 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position
Goalkeeper: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)
Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids),  Kaká (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)
Forwards: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)